MCI Information

What are the classifications of MCIs?

Mass Casualty Incidents are classified by types similar to the NIMS typing matrix:

  • Type I- 100 patients and greater
  • Type II- 50 to 99 patients
  • Type III- 25 to 49 patients
  • Type IV- 10 to 24 patients
  • Type V- 5 to 9 patients

Who activates an MCI event?

The following individuals shall have the authority to activate the MCI plan:

  • The Incident Commander, or designee, at the scene of an MCI, usually via the local ECC.
  • The jurisdictional Emergency Manager, or designee, of a political subdivision having authority for the management of the incident.

What is the Patient Distribution Center and what does it do?


MCI Patient Distribution Center shall activate for all declared MCIs in the ODEMSA region. VCU Health System will serve as primary MCI Patient Distribution Center for the ODEMSA region. CJW Chippenham Medical Center and Southside Regional Medical Center shall be the designated backup MCI Patient Distribution Center hospitals. VCU Medical Center may temporarily designate either facility as primary MCI Patient Distribution Center for any appropriate reason, including better communications, better or closer geographical location to the MCI scene, or because of any other reason that would be in the best interest of patient care.

MCI Patient Distribution Center will be responsible for patient destination recommendations of MCI patients to receiving hospitals. With larger MCI events, it may be necessary to streamline destination recommendations for non-MCI-related patients in order to not overwhelm facilities. During type III or larger MCI events, MCI Patient Distribution Center should be contacted to coordinate all transport destinations, including non-MCI transports, in order to achieve coordination and minimize impact to agencies.

MCI Patient Distribution Center is activated by calling Regional Healthcare Coordination Center at the RHCC hotline (1-800-276-0683). Local PSAPs or the scene incident commander should be prepared to provide the following information:

  • Lead Agency Name
  • Exact location of the incident
  • Locality name
  • Point of contact and callback number
  • Type of incident/patient generator (explosion, major car accident, chemical fire, etc.)
  • Total number of patients to include number of Red-, Yellow-, and Green-tagged patients (if known).

What is the RHCC (Regional Healthcare Coordination Center)?

Each acute care hospital in the ODEMSA region coordinates their emergency response and recovery operations with the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center. The RHCC handles coordination activities similar to the EMS PDC, previously known as Medical Control Hospital. During MCIs, the RHCC coordinates hospital resources much like the PDC coordinates EMS resources. Working together, they allow for a more comprehensive response.

Who oversees MCIs for review and planning?

MCIs in the region are reviewed, planned for, and coordinated by a standing committee of ODEMSA consisting of hospital, pre-hospital, and regional/state/local emergency managers.